Sakai UCamp - Initial planning meeting

Allison Bloodworth abloodworth at berkeley.edu
Tue Nov 6 20:06:35 UTC 2007


I'm sorry, I missed a couple options and removed the note that the  
2pm PST was the best option for me (really anything is fine now  
except the 1pm PST, which could probably still work out, but I may be  
a few minutes late).

On Nov 6, 2007, at 12:01 PM, Allison Bloodworth wrote:

> Here are mine...
> On Nov 6, 2007, at 11:55 AM, Daphne Ogle wrote:
>
>> I added my preferences below...
>>
>> On Nov 6, 2007, at 6:31 AM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>
>>> Hi Daphne,
>>> No worries if that's not a good time.  I'm certainly open to  
>>> suggested times so don't hesitate if you have any preferences.
>>>
>>> Here's a few more:
>>> - Thursday, November 15th, 8am PST/ 11am EST
>> Daphne
> Allison
>>> - Thursday, November 15th, 9am PST/ 12pm EST
Allison
>>> - Thursday, November 15th, 10am PST/ 1pm EST
Allison
>>> - Thursday, November 15th, 11am PST/ 2pm EST
>>> - Thursday, November 15th, 12pm PST/ 3pm EST
>>> - Thursday, November 15th,  1pm PST/ 4pm EST
>> Daphne
> Allison - might be able to work this one out but it would be tight  
> as I have a lunch date
>>> - Thursday, November 15th,  2pm PST/ 5pm EST
>> Daphne
> Allison
>>>
>>> cheers
>>> Barbara
>>>
>>>
>>> On 5-Nov-07, at 7:49 PM, Daphne Ogle wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi Barbara,
>>>>
>>>> That time doesn't work for me.  I already have another meeting  
>>>> scheduled.  How about throwing out a few times that might work  
>>>> for folks?
>>>>
>>>> -Daphne
>>>>
>>>> On Nov 5, 2007, at 2:29 PM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> Hi all,
>>>>> I've learned that Wednesday is not a good day for a few people  
>>>>> so let's consider Thursday, November 15th, 10am PST/ 1pm EST
>>>>>
>>>>> cheers
>>>>> Barbara
>>>>>
>>>>> On 5-Nov-07, at 4:17 PM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>>>>
>>>>>> Hi all,
>>>>>> The Sakai conference is just a few weeks away and we need to  
>>>>>> start formalizing the UCamp.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Let's have our first Sakai UCamp meeting at the following time:
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Next Meeting: Tentative - Wednesday, November 14th, 1pm PST/  
>>>>>> 4pm EST
>>>>>> Time is fast approaching for the Sakai UCamp and so we need to  
>>>>>> start planning what talks and design projects we want to  
>>>>>> include.  We have a nice list of suggestions but for any  
>>>>>> design projects, the design team will need to prepare ahead of  
>>>>>> time so we need to select something.  Check email lists for  
>>>>>> more discussion.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> We'll have the meeting in the Breeze room.  Hope to see you  
>>>>>> there!
>>>>>> thanks
>>>>>> Barbara
>>>>>>
>>>>>> One thing we'd like to do is a collaborative design + dev  
>>>>>> project.  Here are a few ideas:
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Reorderer Implementation in Sakai:
>>>>>> This functionality could be useful, usable and efficient in  
>>>>>> many places across the Sakai application. These following are  
>>>>>> some ideas for integration points:
>>>>>>
>>>>>>     * Tool Order functionality (currently in Site Info) - we  
>>>>>> could even look at allowing users to reorganize the actual  
>>>>>> navigation itself so they are getting immediate and direct  
>>>>>> feedback about what they are doing.
>>>>>>     * Tab Reodering - allow users to reorder their tabs  
>>>>>> directly. This could be used with the current tab  
>>>>>> customization functionality and/or used to directly organize  
>>>>>> sites and tabs.
>>>>>>     * Resources - file organization within folders and between  
>>>>>> folders.
>>>>>>     * Image reodering between collections - lightbox allows  
>>>>>> for rerodering within a collection now. Next phase of Image  
>>>>>> Gallery will allow images to be moved in and out of  
>>>>>> collections also. UC Berkeley will likely implement this  
>>>>>> unless it's done as part of this activity.
>>>>>>     * Page orderer - where pages includes multiple tools (home  
>>>>>> for instance), allow users to dynamically and directly order  
>>>>>> the tools on the page.
>>>>>>     * Wiki - Thoughts about where the reorder could be used here?
>>>>>>     * Syllabus Tool - Allow users to reorder sections /  
>>>>>> components of their syllabus.
>>>>>>
>>>>>> Other ideas:
>>>>>>   * Medium task - think again about the concepts of sub-spaces  
>>>>>> in the wiki. Are there some quick hits to be made?
>>>>>>     * Quick task - change (not remove!) the location / display  
>>>>>> of the Wiki breadcrumbs?
>>>>>>     * Announcements / Resources - they duplicate some  
>>>>>> functionality but display and terminology is different - could  
>>>>>> these be resolved? Are there points where this should also be  
>>>>>> the case for Schedule?
>>>>>>     * Schedule - there must be lots that could be done on  
>>>>>> this! How about inventing "all day events" with a neat way for  
>>>>>> them to be displayed?
>>>>>>     * Tools menu - a user of another similar system said that  
>>>>>> on his small-screen laptop, he really appreciated being able  
>>>>>> to 'fold up' the tools menu, so that (from his description)  
>>>>>> the tool names hid but the tool icons remained. How about  
>>>>>> something similar for Sakai?
>>>>>>     * Site Info - is the arrangement of the links in the  
>>>>>> actions bar of the Site Info tool logical? e.g. some are  
>>>>>> frequently used, others rarely (perhaps?) Should people  
>>>>>> consider re-arranging the tools in the actions bar?
>>>>>>     * Site Info - consider whether the information shown to  
>>>>>> students in Site Info is as logical as it should be - for  
>>>>>> example, don't they see the info from the home page displayed  
>>>>>> again under Site Info?
>>>>>>     * Permissions - could some minor changes be made to the  
>>>>>> permissions helper so that it was clearer how to use it? For  
>>>>>> example, could something as minor as (in some cases) changing  
>>>>>> the order in which permissions display be useful? Would it be  
>>>>>> clearer if the rows and columns were swapped? Could some  
>>>>>> visual indicators be given of the increasing 'power' of the  
>>>>>> permissions (e.g. shading going from dark to light to indicate  
>>>>>> how powerful a particular permission is)? Could a 'return to  
>>>>>> default settings' button be implemented? Could permission  
>>>>>> recipes be implemented? (e.g. click a button to set typical  
>>>>>> teaching site permissions)? These may be beyond the scope of  
>>>>>> the project, though!
>>>>>>     * Dull but useful - checking for consistency of styling in  
>>>>>> the HTML, especially in the actions bar, where some links have  
>>>>>> "|" between them and others don't, some have around the  
>>>>>> current link and others don't, especially.
>>>>>>     * Schedule - I don't suppose it would be possible to make  
>>>>>> it so that you can double-click an empty space in the schedule  
>>>>>> and the "add event" will be triggered? But perhaps a minor  
>>>>>> improvement might be that if you look at a day, and then click  
>>>>>> the 'add' button, it should assume that you want to add the  
>>>>>> event to that day.
>>>>>>     * Admin Sites tool - could some improvements be made to  
>>>>>> this to make life easier for administrators? e.g. displaying  
>>>>>> the tools in some sort of order when you add a new tool to a  
>>>>>> site using the Sites tool (or if they are in an order, making  
>>>>>> it clear which that order is!).
>>>>>>     * Profile tool - I can imagine there being some scope for  
>>>>>> improvements to the Profile tool if a UI team looked at it...  
>>>>>> Perhaps they could make some suggestions that the people at  
>>>>>> Lancaster might like to follow up, as they suggested that they  
>>>>>> might work on a way of uploading photos straight into it.
>>>>>>     * Admin Realms tool - okay, its a niche tool, but there is  
>>>>>> definitely scope for making our lives easier by improving the  
>>>>>> Realms tool - perhaps by allowing you a way of searching by  
>>>>>> site name, not just site id? Or simply displaying the site  
>>>>>> name & group / section names when you get into the view of the  
>>>>>> individual realms and sub-realms.
>>>>>>     * My Workspace - Message of the Dday view - should users  
>>>>>> really be allowed to click on 'options' and not see MoTD?  
>>>>>> should users really be allowed to choose to see the subject  
>>>>>> heading only, given that you can't then click through and see  
>>>>>> the body of the text?
>>>>>>     * MyWorkspace - how about a feature which allows people to  
>>>>>> set their own funky picture at the Site Logo for their  
>>>>>> MyWorkspace? Or it could show their Profile Picture as their  
>>>>>> MyWorkspace Site Logo (like Facebook)...
>>>>>>
>>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> [see attachment: "message0.html", size: 13251 bytes]
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>> Attachments:
>>>>>
>>>>> message0.html
>>>>> https://collab.sakaiproject.org/access/content/attachment/ 
>>>>> 225942bd-b6d0-4870-8057-25235bcc6fbf/message0.html
>>>>>
>>>>> ----------------------
>>>>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>>>>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>>>>> Interaction site.
>>>>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>>>>> Preferences.
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Daphne Ogle
>>>> Senior Interaction Designer
>>>> University of California, Berkeley
>>>> Educational Technology Services
>>>> daphne at media.berkeley.edu
>>>> cell (510)847-0308
>>>>
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> [see attachment: "message0.html", size: 16480 bytes]
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Attachments:
>>>>
>>>> message0.html
>>>> https://collab.sakaiproject.org/access/content/attachment/ 
>>>> 8851aa40-e692-4fec-00c5-de81ac252fe4/message0.html
>>>>
>>>> ----------------------
>>>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>>>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>>>> Interaction site.
>>>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>>>> Preferences.
>>>>
>>>
>>> ----------------------
>>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>>> Interaction site.
>>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>>> Preferences.
>>>
>>
>> Daphne Ogle
>> Senior Interaction Designer
>> University of California, Berkeley
>> Educational Technology Services
>> daphne at media.berkeley.edu
>> cell (510)847-0308
>>
>>
>>
>> _______________________________________________
>> fluid-work mailing list
>> fluid-work at fluidproject.org
>> http://fluidproject.org/mailman/listinfo/fluid-work
>
> Allison Bloodworth
> Senior User Interaction Designer
> Educational Technology Services
> University of California, Berkeley
> (415) 377-8243
> abloodworth at berkeley.edu
>
>
>
>

Allison Bloodworth
Senior User Interaction Designer
Educational Technology Services
University of California, Berkeley
(415) 377-8243
abloodworth at berkeley.edu




-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.idrc.ocad.ca/pipermail/fluid-work/attachments/20071106/b843d3e8/attachment.htm>


More information about the fluid-work mailing list