Sakai UCamp - Initial planning meeting

Marc Brierley brierley at stanford.edu
Tue Nov 6 19:49:09 UTC 2007


On Nov 6, 2007, at 6:31 AM, Barbara Glover wrote:

> Hi Daphne,
> No worries if that's not a good time.  I'm certainly open to  
> suggested times so don't hesitate if you have any preferences.
>
> Here's a few more:
> - Thursday, November 15th, 8am PST/ 11am EST
> - Thursday, November 15th, 9am PST/ 12pm EST
> - Thursday, November 15th, 10am PST/ 1pm EST
> - Thursday, November 15th, 11am PST/ 2pm EST
> - Thursday, November 15th, 12pm PST/ 3pm EST
> - Thursday, November 15th,  1pm PST/ 4pm EST
> - Thursday, November 15th,  2pm PST/ 1pm EST
These last two work for Jackie, Julie and me.
-mARC

>
> cheers
> Barbara
>
>
> On 5-Nov-07, at 7:49 PM, Daphne Ogle wrote:
>
>> Hi Barbara,
>>
>> That time doesn't work for me.  I already have another meeting  
>> scheduled.  How about throwing out a few times that might work for  
>> folks?
>>
>> -Daphne
>>
>> On Nov 5, 2007, at 2:29 PM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>
>>> Hi all,
>>> I've learned that Wednesday is not a good day for a few people so  
>>> let's consider Thursday, November 15th, 10am PST/ 1pm EST
>>>
>>> cheers
>>> Barbara
>>>
>>> On 5-Nov-07, at 4:17 PM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi all,
>>>> The Sakai conference is just a few weeks away and we need to  
>>>> start formalizing the UCamp.
>>>>
>>>> Let's have our first Sakai UCamp meeting at the following time:
>>>>
>>>> Next Meeting: Tentative - Wednesday, November 14th, 1pm PST/ 4pm  
>>>> EST
>>>> Time is fast approaching for the Sakai UCamp and so we need to  
>>>> start planning what talks and design projects we want to  
>>>> include.  We have a nice list of suggestions but for any design  
>>>> projects, the design team will need to prepare ahead of time so  
>>>> we need to select something.  Check email lists for more  
>>>> discussion.
>>>>
>>>> We'll have the meeting in the Breeze room.  Hope to see you there!
>>>> thanks
>>>> Barbara
>>>>
>>>> One thing we'd like to do is a collaborative design + dev  
>>>> project.  Here are a few ideas:
>>>>
>>>> Reorderer Implementation in Sakai:
>>>> This functionality could be useful, usable and efficient in many  
>>>> places across the Sakai application. These following are some  
>>>> ideas for integration points:
>>>>
>>>>     * Tool Order functionality (currently in Site Info) - we  
>>>> could even look at allowing users to reorganize the actual  
>>>> navigation itself so they are getting immediate and direct  
>>>> feedback about what they are doing.
>>>>     * Tab Reodering - allow users to reorder their tabs  
>>>> directly. This could be used with the current tab customization  
>>>> functionality and/or used to directly organize sites and tabs.
>>>>     * Resources - file organization within folders and between  
>>>> folders.
>>>>     * Image reodering between collections - lightbox allows for  
>>>> rerodering within a collection now. Next phase of Image Gallery  
>>>> will allow images to be moved in and out of collections also. UC  
>>>> Berkeley will likely implement this unless it's done as part of  
>>>> this activity.
>>>>     * Page orderer - where pages includes multiple tools (home  
>>>> for instance), allow users to dynamically and directly order the  
>>>> tools on the page.
>>>>     * Wiki - Thoughts about where the reorder could be used here?
>>>>     * Syllabus Tool - Allow users to reorder sections /  
>>>> components of their syllabus.
>>>>
>>>> Other ideas:
>>>>   * Medium task - think again about the concepts of sub-spaces  
>>>> in the wiki. Are there some quick hits to be made?
>>>>     * Quick task - change (not remove!) the location / display  
>>>> of the Wiki breadcrumbs?
>>>>     * Announcements / Resources - they duplicate some  
>>>> functionality but display and terminology is different - could  
>>>> these be resolved? Are there points where this should also be  
>>>> the case for Schedule?
>>>>     * Schedule - there must be lots that could be done on this!  
>>>> How about inventing "all day events" with a neat way for them to  
>>>> be displayed?
>>>>     * Tools menu - a user of another similar system said that on  
>>>> his small-screen laptop, he really appreciated being able to  
>>>> 'fold up' the tools menu, so that (from his description) the  
>>>> tool names hid but the tool icons remained. How about something  
>>>> similar for Sakai?
>>>>     * Site Info - is the arrangement of the links in the actions  
>>>> bar of the Site Info tool logical? e.g. some are frequently  
>>>> used, others rarely (perhaps?) Should people consider re- 
>>>> arranging the tools in the actions bar?
>>>>     * Site Info - consider whether the information shown to  
>>>> students in Site Info is as logical as it should be - for  
>>>> example, don't they see the info from the home page displayed  
>>>> again under Site Info?
>>>>     * Permissions - could some minor changes be made to the  
>>>> permissions helper so that it was clearer how to use it? For  
>>>> example, could something as minor as (in some cases) changing  
>>>> the order in which permissions display be useful? Would it be  
>>>> clearer if the rows and columns were swapped? Could some visual  
>>>> indicators be given of the increasing 'power' of the permissions  
>>>> (e.g. shading going from dark to light to indicate how powerful  
>>>> a particular permission is)? Could a 'return to default  
>>>> settings' button be implemented? Could permission recipes be  
>>>> implemented? (e.g. click a button to set typical teaching site  
>>>> permissions)? These may be beyond the scope of the project, though!
>>>>     * Dull but useful - checking for consistency of styling in  
>>>> the HTML, especially in the actions bar, where some links have  
>>>> "|" between them and others don't, some have around the current  
>>>> link and others don't, especially.
>>>>     * Schedule - I don't suppose it would be possible to make it  
>>>> so that you can double-click an empty space in the schedule and  
>>>> the "add event" will be triggered? But perhaps a minor  
>>>> improvement might be that if you look at a day, and then click  
>>>> the 'add' button, it should assume that you want to add the  
>>>> event to that day.
>>>>     * Admin Sites tool - could some improvements be made to this  
>>>> to make life easier for administrators? e.g. displaying the  
>>>> tools in some sort of order when you add a new tool to a site  
>>>> using the Sites tool (or if they are in an order, making it  
>>>> clear which that order is!).
>>>>     * Profile tool - I can imagine there being some scope for  
>>>> improvements to the Profile tool if a UI team looked at it...  
>>>> Perhaps they could make some suggestions that the people at  
>>>> Lancaster might like to follow up, as they suggested that they  
>>>> might work on a way of uploading photos straight into it.
>>>>     * Admin Realms tool - okay, its a niche tool, but there is  
>>>> definitely scope for making our lives easier by improving the  
>>>> Realms tool - perhaps by allowing you a way of searching by site  
>>>> name, not just site id? Or simply displaying the site name &  
>>>> group / section names when you get into the view of the  
>>>> individual realms and sub-realms.
>>>>     * My Workspace - Message of the Dday view - should users  
>>>> really be allowed to click on 'options' and not see MoTD? should  
>>>> users really be allowed to choose to see the subject heading  
>>>> only, given that you can't then click through and see the body  
>>>> of the text?
>>>>     * MyWorkspace - how about a feature which allows people to  
>>>> set their own funky picture at the Site Logo for their  
>>>> MyWorkspace? Or it could show their Profile Picture as their  
>>>> MyWorkspace Site Logo (like Facebook)...
>>>>
>>>>
>>>
>>> [see attachment: "message0.html", size: 13251 bytes]
>>>
>>>
>>> Attachments:
>>>
>>> message0.html
>>> https://collab.sakaiproject.org/access/content/attachment/ 
>>> 225942bd-b6d0-4870-8057-25235bcc6fbf/message0.html
>>>
>>> ----------------------
>>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>>> Interaction site.
>>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>>> Preferences.
>>>
>>
>> Daphne Ogle
>> Senior Interaction Designer
>> University of California, Berkeley
>> Educational Technology Services
>> daphne at media.berkeley.edu
>> cell (510)847-0308
>>
>>
>>
>> [see attachment: "message0.html", size: 16480 bytes]
>>
>>
>> Attachments:
>>
>> message0.html
>> https://collab.sakaiproject.org/access/content/attachment/8851aa40- 
>> e692-4fec-00c5-de81ac252fe4/message0.html
>>
>> ----------------------
>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>> Interaction site.
>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>> Preferences.
>>
>
> ----------------------
> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
> Interaction site.
> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
> Preferences.
>




More information about the fluid-work mailing list