Sakai UCamp - Initial planning meeting

Allison Bloodworth abloodworth at berkeley.edu
Tue Nov 6 20:01:39 UTC 2007


Here are mine...
On Nov 6, 2007, at 11:55 AM, Daphne Ogle wrote:

> I added my preferences below...
>
> On Nov 6, 2007, at 6:31 AM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>
>> Hi Daphne,
>> No worries if that's not a good time.  I'm certainly open to  
>> suggested times so don't hesitate if you have any preferences.
>>
>> Here's a few more:
>> - Thursday, November 15th, 8am PST/ 11am EST
> Daphne
Allison
>> - Thursday, November 15th, 9am PST/ 12pm EST
>> - Thursday, November 15th, 10am PST/ 1pm EST
>> - Thursday, November 15th, 11am PST/ 2pm EST
>> - Thursday, November 15th, 12pm PST/ 3pm EST
>> - Thursday, November 15th,  1pm PST/ 4pm EST
> Daphne
Allison - might be able to work this one out but it would be tight as  
I have a lunch date
>> - Thursday, November 15th,  2pm PST/ 5pm EST
> Daphne
Allison - best option for me
>>
>> cheers
>> Barbara
>>
>>
>> On 5-Nov-07, at 7:49 PM, Daphne Ogle wrote:
>>
>>> Hi Barbara,
>>>
>>> That time doesn't work for me.  I already have another meeting  
>>> scheduled.  How about throwing out a few times that might work  
>>> for folks?
>>>
>>> -Daphne
>>>
>>> On Nov 5, 2007, at 2:29 PM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>>
>>>> Hi all,
>>>> I've learned that Wednesday is not a good day for a few people  
>>>> so let's consider Thursday, November 15th, 10am PST/ 1pm EST
>>>>
>>>> cheers
>>>> Barbara
>>>>
>>>> On 5-Nov-07, at 4:17 PM, Barbara Glover wrote:
>>>>
>>>>> Hi all,
>>>>> The Sakai conference is just a few weeks away and we need to  
>>>>> start formalizing the UCamp.
>>>>>
>>>>> Let's have our first Sakai UCamp meeting at the following time:
>>>>>
>>>>> Next Meeting: Tentative - Wednesday, November 14th, 1pm PST/  
>>>>> 4pm EST
>>>>> Time is fast approaching for the Sakai UCamp and so we need to  
>>>>> start planning what talks and design projects we want to  
>>>>> include.  We have a nice list of suggestions but for any design  
>>>>> projects, the design team will need to prepare ahead of time so  
>>>>> we need to select something.  Check email lists for more  
>>>>> discussion.
>>>>>
>>>>> We'll have the meeting in the Breeze room.  Hope to see you there!
>>>>> thanks
>>>>> Barbara
>>>>>
>>>>> One thing we'd like to do is a collaborative design + dev  
>>>>> project.  Here are a few ideas:
>>>>>
>>>>> Reorderer Implementation in Sakai:
>>>>> This functionality could be useful, usable and efficient in  
>>>>> many places across the Sakai application. These following are  
>>>>> some ideas for integration points:
>>>>>
>>>>>     * Tool Order functionality (currently in Site Info) - we  
>>>>> could even look at allowing users to reorganize the actual  
>>>>> navigation itself so they are getting immediate and direct  
>>>>> feedback about what they are doing.
>>>>>     * Tab Reodering - allow users to reorder their tabs  
>>>>> directly. This could be used with the current tab customization  
>>>>> functionality and/or used to directly organize sites and tabs.
>>>>>     * Resources - file organization within folders and between  
>>>>> folders.
>>>>>     * Image reodering between collections - lightbox allows for  
>>>>> rerodering within a collection now. Next phase of Image Gallery  
>>>>> will allow images to be moved in and out of collections also.  
>>>>> UC Berkeley will likely implement this unless it's done as part  
>>>>> of this activity.
>>>>>     * Page orderer - where pages includes multiple tools (home  
>>>>> for instance), allow users to dynamically and directly order  
>>>>> the tools on the page.
>>>>>     * Wiki - Thoughts about where the reorder could be used here?
>>>>>     * Syllabus Tool - Allow users to reorder sections /  
>>>>> components of their syllabus.
>>>>>
>>>>> Other ideas:
>>>>>   * Medium task - think again about the concepts of sub-spaces  
>>>>> in the wiki. Are there some quick hits to be made?
>>>>>     * Quick task - change (not remove!) the location / display  
>>>>> of the Wiki breadcrumbs?
>>>>>     * Announcements / Resources - they duplicate some  
>>>>> functionality but display and terminology is different - could  
>>>>> these be resolved? Are there points where this should also be  
>>>>> the case for Schedule?
>>>>>     * Schedule - there must be lots that could be done on this!  
>>>>> How about inventing "all day events" with a neat way for them  
>>>>> to be displayed?
>>>>>     * Tools menu - a user of another similar system said that  
>>>>> on his small-screen laptop, he really appreciated being able to  
>>>>> 'fold up' the tools menu, so that (from his description) the  
>>>>> tool names hid but the tool icons remained. How about something  
>>>>> similar for Sakai?
>>>>>     * Site Info - is the arrangement of the links in the  
>>>>> actions bar of the Site Info tool logical? e.g. some are  
>>>>> frequently used, others rarely (perhaps?) Should people  
>>>>> consider re-arranging the tools in the actions bar?
>>>>>     * Site Info - consider whether the information shown to  
>>>>> students in Site Info is as logical as it should be - for  
>>>>> example, don't they see the info from the home page displayed  
>>>>> again under Site Info?
>>>>>     * Permissions - could some minor changes be made to the  
>>>>> permissions helper so that it was clearer how to use it? For  
>>>>> example, could something as minor as (in some cases) changing  
>>>>> the order in which permissions display be useful? Would it be  
>>>>> clearer if the rows and columns were swapped? Could some visual  
>>>>> indicators be given of the increasing 'power' of the  
>>>>> permissions (e.g. shading going from dark to light to indicate  
>>>>> how powerful a particular permission is)? Could a 'return to  
>>>>> default settings' button be implemented? Could permission  
>>>>> recipes be implemented? (e.g. click a button to set typical  
>>>>> teaching site permissions)? These may be beyond the scope of  
>>>>> the project, though!
>>>>>     * Dull but useful - checking for consistency of styling in  
>>>>> the HTML, especially in the actions bar, where some links have  
>>>>> "|" between them and others don't, some have around the current  
>>>>> link and others don't, especially.
>>>>>     * Schedule - I don't suppose it would be possible to make  
>>>>> it so that you can double-click an empty space in the schedule  
>>>>> and the "add event" will be triggered? But perhaps a minor  
>>>>> improvement might be that if you look at a day, and then click  
>>>>> the 'add' button, it should assume that you want to add the  
>>>>> event to that day.
>>>>>     * Admin Sites tool - could some improvements be made to  
>>>>> this to make life easier for administrators? e.g. displaying  
>>>>> the tools in some sort of order when you add a new tool to a  
>>>>> site using the Sites tool (or if they are in an order, making  
>>>>> it clear which that order is!).
>>>>>     * Profile tool - I can imagine there being some scope for  
>>>>> improvements to the Profile tool if a UI team looked at it...  
>>>>> Perhaps they could make some suggestions that the people at  
>>>>> Lancaster might like to follow up, as they suggested that they  
>>>>> might work on a way of uploading photos straight into it.
>>>>>     * Admin Realms tool - okay, its a niche tool, but there is  
>>>>> definitely scope for making our lives easier by improving the  
>>>>> Realms tool - perhaps by allowing you a way of searching by  
>>>>> site name, not just site id? Or simply displaying the site name  
>>>>> & group / section names when you get into the view of the  
>>>>> individual realms and sub-realms.
>>>>>     * My Workspace - Message of the Dday view - should users  
>>>>> really be allowed to click on 'options' and not see MoTD?  
>>>>> should users really be allowed to choose to see the subject  
>>>>> heading only, given that you can't then click through and see  
>>>>> the body of the text?
>>>>>     * MyWorkspace - how about a feature which allows people to  
>>>>> set their own funky picture at the Site Logo for their  
>>>>> MyWorkspace? Or it could show their Profile Picture as their  
>>>>> MyWorkspace Site Logo (like Facebook)...
>>>>>
>>>>>
>>>>
>>>> [see attachment: "message0.html", size: 13251 bytes]
>>>>
>>>>
>>>> Attachments:
>>>>
>>>> message0.html
>>>> https://collab.sakaiproject.org/access/content/attachment/ 
>>>> 225942bd-b6d0-4870-8057-25235bcc6fbf/message0.html
>>>>
>>>> ----------------------
>>>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>>>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>>>> Interaction site.
>>>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>>>> Preferences.
>>>>
>>>
>>> Daphne Ogle
>>> Senior Interaction Designer
>>> University of California, Berkeley
>>> Educational Technology Services
>>> daphne at media.berkeley.edu
>>> cell (510)847-0308
>>>
>>>
>>>
>>> [see attachment: "message0.html", size: 16480 bytes]
>>>
>>>
>>> Attachments:
>>>
>>> message0.html
>>> https://collab.sakaiproject.org/access/content/attachment/ 
>>> 8851aa40-e692-4fec-00c5-de81ac252fe4/message0.html
>>>
>>> ----------------------
>>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>>> Interaction site.
>>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>>> Preferences.
>>>
>>
>> ----------------------
>> This automatic notification message was sent by Sakai Collab  
>> (https://collab.sakaiproject.org/portal) from the DG: User  
>> Interaction site.
>> You can modify how you receive notifications at My Workspace >  
>> Preferences.
>>
>
> Daphne Ogle
> Senior Interaction Designer
> University of California, Berkeley
> Educational Technology Services
> daphne at media.berkeley.edu
> cell (510)847-0308
>
>
>
> _______________________________________________
> fluid-work mailing list
> fluid-work at fluidproject.org
> http://fluidproject.org/mailman/listinfo/fluid-work

Allison Bloodworth
Senior User Interaction Designer
Educational Technology Services
University of California, Berkeley
(415) 377-8243
abloodworth at berkeley.edu




-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <https://lists.idrc.ocad.ca/pipermail/fluid-work/attachments/20071106/f1e830c3/attachment.htm>


More information about the fluid-work mailing list